Legends of the Auto Gala Dinner - A Celebration of Automotive Greatness

On Thursday, August 23rd, I had the pleasure of attending the Legends of Auto Gala Dinner at the Embassy Suites Monterey Bay.

Many of you may have never heard of Legends of Auto. Fellow Western Automotive Journalist member and publisher of AutoNews (a paper and online at www.autonewsonline.com) wanted to honor outstanding people in the automotive world. The mission statement is: To recognize and award individual accomplishments, that have significantly advanced the auto industry around the world and to help develop the next generation of auto industry leaders.

The list of honorees is long and wide. Honored Members are: George Barris, Bert Boeckmann, Bob Bondurant, Sandra Button, Corky Coker, Vic Edelbrock, Ken Gross, Dan Gurney, Lee Iacocca, Craig Jackson, Lyn St. James, Parnelli Jones, Jay Leno, Bruce McCaw, Dana Mecum, Bruce Meyer, Peter Mullin, Roger Penske, Stewart Reed, and Caroll Shelby.

There are also these Executive Award Winners: Mark Fields (Ford), John Krafcik (Hyundai), Mark Reuss (GM), Alan Mulally (Ford), Jim O'Sullivan (Mazda), Tom Doll (Subaru), Les Kerssemakers (Volvo), Bill Fay (Toyota), and Jim Farley (Ford).

This years honorees were:
Tom duPont - Founder of the duPont Registry
Ken Lingenfelter - CEO of Lingenfelter Company
Keith Martin - Founder of Sports Car Market Magazin
Barry Meguiar - Founder of Meguiar Car Care Company
Steve Saleen - CEO Saleen Motor Company

I apologize for the poor photo. This is a grouping of past and this year's honorees. From the left: Bob Bondurant, just barely visible behind him is Lynn St. James and another man, Tom duPont, Steve Saleen, Barry Meguiar, Keith Martin, Ken Lingenfelter, and my memory fails me (all winners get one of those scarves).

It was a great evening. Here I was sitting near all of these icons of the automotive world. My only regret is that I couldn't afford to participate in the silent auctions.


Popular Posts